Disney + Content Marketing = Sparkle Emoji

I wasn’t that into Disney as a kid. My parents took us to museums and aquariums rather than theme parks and Disney World. It was more when I got into middle school and high school where my Disney obsession kicked in. I re-watched  all of the movies and memorized all of the songs. The first time I went to Disney World, I was sixteen and went with a church group. We were there all day and at the end of the night I got so sick, I threw up right in front of Cinderella’s Castle. My parents had to drive all the way down to Orlando to pick me up. I know, magical right? At least it makes a good story.

info

I think one of the amazing things about Disney is as you get older you realize that the magic is in the details. Almost everything they do has a purpose. From their theme parks, movies, merchandising and of course, marketing, Disney has a way of catching your eye in a way that is so natural you don’t even notice.

Part of the way they do this is is through their content marketing. Content marketing is marketing technique of creating and distributing relevant and consistent content to attract audience with the objective of driving profitable customer action (Forbes). To me this is almost like a form of guerrilla marketing. It’s basically creating content that has to do with your brand that gives it value.

I just happen to have a great example of awesome Disney content marketing from my everyday life! How convenient?! The other day I got an Instagram ad for an account to follow. At first I didn’t even realize it was an ad. I clicked on the picture because I liked it so much. I was a whole account dedicated to fashion and style inspired by Minnie Mouse. For those of you who don’t know, Minnie Mouse is my style icon. Minnie is queen, bae, and role model roles up in one. Event as I write this post,  I sit in my bed on my red and white polka dot comforter in a Minnie tee.

info-3.png

Turns out, it’s an actual Disney account. It promotes clothing lines and other things with Minnie influence, but it does it in a way that’s so organic its crazy. Its sneaky and I love it. (click here to look at the Minnie Style Insta)

info-4

Disney is great at so many things. Why would content marketing be an exception?

 

Sources

Steimle, J. (2016, January 28). What Is Content Marketing? Retrieved February 01, 2017, from http://www.forbes.com/sites/joshsteimle/2014/09/19/what-is-content-marketing/#2660e0a51d70

Minnie Style . (n.d.). Retrieved February 01, 2017, from https://www.instagram.com/minniestyle/

Leave a Reply

